NXTBee Examples Updated

Posted: September 9, 2011 in Engineering, LEGO, News, Robotics
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I have updated the examples for the NXTBee on the files page. These updates include timing so the screen shows the correct text and updating it to work with the 2.12 version of the block. If you have any issues with the newest update, please let me know!

Next, I am planning to update a revision to the NXTBee block in the coming week. It will likely be around version 2.20. This update adds a timeout to both sending and receiving. Sending will try 10 times to send and if it does not hear back form the other NXT, it will stop. Receiving will listen for 20 ms before it times out. This should make it so the software is easier to use. If you are interested in testing this, please leave a comment or email me.

Comments
  1. Alan M. Gilkes says:

    Andy,

    Please count me in among your testers for the new NXTBee NXT-G block.

    Thanks,
    Alan

  2. Brian Bachmeier says:

    Andy,
    I would be interested in testing out the updated NXTBee NXT-G block. I just received my NXTBee radios and have been doing some preliminary testing using the 2.12 block with the example send/receive program. I am not getting very good range indoors (less than 20ft). Any ideas?
    Brian

    • 08milluz says:

      The xBee drops packets as it gets further from the other units. (This is an xBee problem, not a NXTBee specific thing.) The block would require a more complex program to check each packet and decide if it needs to resend.

      As for the next block, I have run into some issues with the timeout breaking some other things. I have also been super busy. I am hoping to get some time this weekend to work on it.

  3. […] and Labview for LEGO MINDSTORMS (LVLM) A few months back, Andrew Milluzi released Laview VI’s for the NXTBee.  This week we tested the NXTBee with LVLM, the LabView for LEGO MINDSTORMS (LVLM).  We also are […]

  4. Vardhu says:

    hey can you send me your code..’
    Thank you

  5. […] few months back, Andrew Milluzi released Laview VI’s for the NXTBee.  This week we tested the NXTBee with LVLM, the LabView for LEGO MINDSTORMS (LVLM).  We also are […]

Leave a comment